Okonomiyaki

Grilled as you like it

Plagiarised! August 31, 2008

Filed under: Cooking,recipes — laurel @ 5:26 pm
Tags: , , , ,

So I was looking at my incoming links and saw that I had a hit from a site called Hirecipes. Curious about my new internet connection, I clicked on the link. Imagine my surprise when I saw my blog post on another site, word for word! Some of my original writing had been deleted (I suppose it wasn’t relative to this site’s “author”), but there was not one word of original content posted alongside my recipe, writing, and photos. It had only been about 12 hours since I’d posted the recipe, in fact-It wasn’t likely that anyone had even had time to try my recipe. I was hopping mad. I left a comment asking for the recipe to be removed. There’s no contact information about the site though, so there wasn’t much else I could do.

I felt taken advantage of. “This is stealing!” I though to myself, and told my husband so. I write for others to read and enjoy. Sure, I don’t password protect my blog, but that doesn’t mean it’s out there for anyone named “itsme” or “anonymous” or “joeblow” to drop by and lift as quick as you can say “copy-paste”. I believe in fair use too, but I think this goes beyond fair use. I think there’s some ethical glue that’s holding we bloggers together: thou shalt not post the work of others without creating original content. Am I wrong here? Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

here’s a link to the offending post
here’s a link to my original post

As a relevant aside, a copyright exists for any literary work created by a US national (such as myself) regardless of domicile (meaning it doesn’t matter whether I live in Japan or the US) from the moment the work was created in fixed media (i.e., written down, even digitally).

In the meantime, feel free to use and post the writing you find here for noncommercial purposes-as long as you write something original about it. Please don’t use my photos without permission though.

copyright 2008 LMS

 

7 Responses to “Plagiarised!”

  1. lola Says:

    LOL.. thats sort of popularity site. means that site dont steal your rights..

    You not read the footer?:

    “©2008 hiRecipes.com. All submitted contents are user generated contents, belong to the owner from the source, or public domain contents.”

    you got it? Thats still your work.. Hirecipes.com not claim your works.

    I think you such a person who scared of Digg.com or Reddit…

    What about if someone post your recipes on Digg.com? LOL

  2. Tess Says:

    No LOL!
    That site does not give you credit, nor link back to your site. It is stolen. There are quite a few discussions in the WordPress forums about scraped blogs.
    None of them prevent it, but there are some things you can do to prevent it in future. Or perhaps make it stop.
    I don’t really understand RSS, but you should immediately set your blog to send only a summary of your posts, only the first line or two so it is more difficult to copy whole posts.

  3. laurel Says:

    Thanks for the tips Tess, I’ll look into it.

    As for it being a “popularity site,” I guess it’s the kind of popularity site where I do the work and someone else gets the money:

    “Revenue Sharing in hiRecipes means all the members will have chance to own an ads appeared just below his/her submitted contents if peoples read your submitted contents.

    In other terms, that ads is yours 100% if you submit anything on hiRecipes. The more contents you submit, the more revenue sharing you will get”

  4. Tess Says:

    Wouldn’t you know, this just happened to me! Luckily, the (thief) poster took my post down when I wrote to her/him/it. By the way, I missed that your plagiarist did post a link back to you, buy mine did not. It’s still creepy, not to be asked! I don’t know if I’d have caught it if I didn’t get an incoming link—I do sometimes google the search terms people use to get to my blog and find it listed in aggregator type sites, but those are just lists of links.

  5. lilli Says:

    also in Italy happens, if you can read there are many discussion about
    http://www.untoccodizenzero.it/index.php/zenzero/news/ladri-di-biciclette/

    ciao
    lilli

  6. Patty Says:

    You can make it difficult for people to copy paste your content by adding a free javascript to dissable right clicking on your blog, you can do a google search for these there are many of them available online , like this one http://javascript.internet.com/page-details/no-right-click.html
    , and its not that difficult to install on your blog, just copy the code and paste it on your blog template code between the paste here tags.
    by dissabling the right click it makes it harder for them , they can still steal your content if they know how to read webpage coding or by manually copying the text but either way they will have to work to get it. Its not much but at least its something.
    Hope this helps


Leave a Reply

