Okonomiyaki

Grilled as you like it

Bamboo Suringashi June 21, 2008

bamboo surinagashi: creamy bamboo and tofu soup

Well, we’ve just finished with our school festival, which was keeping me very busy after school. Now I hope to have a chance to catch up with some posts about what I’ve been doing for the last month or so. I bought some bamboo shoots at the market to make bamboo surinagashi (creamy bamboo shoot and tofu soup). I had to buy the packaged ones because the fresh shoots come and go from the market in just a few weeks, and the locally harvested ones are available for only a week or so. Even so, this post is coming a bit late, as the season for bamboo shoots came and went around the first week of May.

The recipe for bamboo surinagashi is another from Elizabeth Andoh’s forthcoming Kansha: Celebrating Japan’s Vegan and Vegetarian Traditions. It was a light soup in which I could really taste the flavors of both the bamboo and tofu. The sprinkling of ground sansho on top also accented the flavor nicely. I saved the leftovers for lunch the next day, and I think I enjoyed it even more then.

kansha cover

 

One Response to “Bamboo Suringashi”

  1. That soup looks very delicious!


Leave a Reply

